Lady Sun Chief Basketball Division Champs


The Faulkner State women’s basketball team won the Southern Division Championship for the 2012-2013 school year with a 10-2 division record.  The last time the Lady Sun Chiefs won the championship was in the 2005-2006 season.

Coach Linda Pitts, who entered her 19th season this year,  was named “ Coach of the Year” in the Southern Division.

“It is a great honor to be recognized by your peers and I am proud to be the recipient,” Coach Pitts said.  “However, the team members are more responsible for the award than I am.  I am more proud of what they accomplished this year than any individual award.”

The Lady Sun Chiefs had three players recognized for post season honors.  Kenyetta Whitter, Tykeria Johnson and Mary Robinson  represented  Faulkner State on the All-Southern Division- Second Team.  Tykeria Johnson and Mary Robinson also earned All Region XXII second team honors.

The squad won its last seven games of the season before losing in the second round of the State Tournament to Lawson State.   The Lady Sun Chiefs ended the season with a 14-12 overall record, with five of those losses coming from out-of-state opponents.

Coach Pitts told us, “We are happy with the success this team achieved, but with 11 returning freshman, we are looking for even better things next season.  I am proud to have been a part of such a great group this year.”

Back to News Listing